homepage logo

Bayshore Cloggers meet royalty, garner more awards

By Staff | Mar 22, 2011

Photo provided The Bayshore Cloggers meet Prince Albert II of Monaco at a downtown Olympian art event.

If it wasn’t enough to meet and entertain Prince Albert II of Monaco, the Bayshore Cloggers also took first place in the Fort Myers Beach Shrimp Festival parade in the last few weeks.

They are a group that has received numerous accolades of late – including first place in the Edison Festival of Lights Parade.

They were the requested entertainment for Prince Albert II, who was in downtown Fort Myers to celebrate the Art of The Olympians exhibit.

“It was a fund-raiser with several Olympians there,” said Christy Payne, director of the group who also works in the clinic office at Bayshore Elementary School. “The kids were thrilled beyond belief.”

Prince Albert was more than gracious in recognizing the dancers, she said.

Photo provided The Bayshore Cloggers have received numerous awards, including first place at the Shrimp Festival Parade on Fort Myers Beach.

The Cloggers are getting many awards, and becoming more well known in the community.

“They also got ‘Most Outstanding Float’ in the Edison Festival of Light parade,” said Payne.

“That was a thrill – we had a banner walking in front of us. We had a Candyland float there, all the Candyland game board. We also took First place in the Shrimp Festival Parade at Fort Myers Beach a few weeks ago.”

They practice every Tuesday and Thursday and they are in every parade in town, she said.

There are 29 students in the Cloggers – plus a four-year-old mascot that dances with the team.

“We had 159 students try out last year. It’s open to second through fifth graders. Cloggers need to try out each year for the team.”

This year’s cloggers are Aliya Brewster, Kieleigh Cook, Kaitlyn Cross, Riley Cummins, Alexia Gatewood, Peyton McGovern, Summer Miller, Amanda Pendarvis, Emily Schneider, Julian Slaybaugh, Annabel Brewster, Marlene Boneta, Alexis Brantley, Taylor Brittain, Annie Crouch, Callee Cunningham, Rachel Cummins, Kaylee Jones, Ashlee Pendarvis, Olivia VanEmmerick, Madelyn Phelps, Colton Campbell, Clay Cook, Trace Dunn, Trendon Dunn, Sammy Neal, Kleyton Slaybaugh and Orlando Zarco.

Jordan Payne is the 4-year-old mascot.

“We will also do the Lehigh Spring Festival Parade on March 26,” said Payne.

Please Enter Your Facebook App ID. Required for FB Comments. Click here for FB Comments Settings page