homepage logo

29th Annual Excellence in Education Awards

By Staff | May 19, 2021

To the editor:

The Chamber of Commerce of Cape Coral Education Committee held the 29th Annual Excellence in Education Awards sponsored by The Breeze Newspapers on Tuesday, May 11, at the Cape Coral Yacht Club. At this feel-good event, the committee recognizes one educator and one student from each participating school in the West Zone for their achievements, positive attitude and contributions to their school community. The committee is proud to offer scholarships to each of the senior high school recipients, as well as one need-based scholarship through an application process. The Chamber of Commerce of Cape Coral also handed out one scholarship on behalf of the Cynthia Gallagher Memorial Scholarship Fund to a graduate student from the Junior Leadership Class of 2020.

We would like to congratulate the following recipients (Educator, Student):

Caloosa Elementary School: Stacy Pappas & Andrew Tucker

Cape Elementary School: Suzanne Cimeno & Finn Murphy

Diplomat Elementary School: Suzanne Roberts & Parker Anderson

Gulf Elementary School: Ashley Pink & Justin Matern

Hancock Creek Elementary School: Brent Bell & Isabelle Szumlanski

Hector A. Cafferata Jr. Elementary School: Erica Littman & Tiana Paillere

Oasis Charter Elementary North: Tanya Sykes & Landon Diaz

Oasis Charter Elementary South: Gena Feury & Brendan Murch

Patriot Elementary School: Courtney Quigley & Dylan Acosta-Machin

Pine Island Elementary School: Jennifer Cann & Aidyn Renz

Skyline Elementary School: Jaime Fialka & Naysa Ardahl

Trafalgar Elementary School: Lindsay Palmer & Allie Holmes

Caloosa Middle School: Kaitlyn Moore & Kristian Wydysh

Christian Life Academy: Montanna Wilson

Gulf Middle School: Dawn Schiro & Landon McCarthy

Mariner Middle School: Aubrey Beougher

Mid Cape Global Academy: Cassandra Corrigan & Kervens Batalien

North Fort Myers Academy for the Arts: Marianne Hodges & Talia Exposito

Oasis Middle School: Kary Porfidio & Yovanna Ignjatic

Saint Andrew Catholic School: Lisa Olson & Mackenzie De Lisle

Trafalgar Middle School: Erin Justice & Sarah Solomon

Cape Coral High School: Cindy Taymont & Sierra Moore, $1,000 Scholarship recipient

Ida Baker High School: Susan Wischhusen & Jensen Diggs, $1,000 Scholarship recipient

Island Coast High School: Scott Guelcher & Riley Sellers, $1,000 Scholarship recipient

Mariner High School: Staci Simon-Lindsay, $1,000 Scholarship recipient

North Nicholas High School: Sherri Lyn Conway & Micaela Scott, $1,000 Scholarship recipient

North Fort Myers High School: Taylor Ashby & Ethan Michael, $1,000 Scholarship recipient

Oasis High School: Bridget Lukomski & Nicholas Clay, $1,000 Scholarship recipient

Cape Coral Technical College: Stephanie Lewandowski & Christopher Berry, $1,000 Scholarship recipient

North Fort Myers High School: Nicole Sotolongo, $2,000 Scholarship recipient

North Fort Myers High School: Tate Williams, $1,000 Scholarship recipient

We would like to thank our sponsors for their continued support. The Breeze Newspapers, Gunterberg Charitable Foundation – Culliton Family, Boost Creative, Nova Southeastern University – Fort Myers Campus, Cape Coral Fraternal Order of Police Lodge #33, Arthur Printing, The Lee County Tax Collector, Key West Express, Celadon Recovery Campus and Chris-Tel Construction.

Excellence in Education is hosted by the Chamber of Commerce of Cape Coral’s Education Committee. This group of volunteers is also responsible for the Annual Principal’s Luncheon in September and Taste of the Cape during season.

Donna S. Germain, President/CEO

Michelle Russ, Special Events Director

and The Chamber of Commerce of Cape Coral Education Committee